In a multi-store environment, there may be a time that you need to transfer inventory from one location to another.
This can be easily done through the Purchase orders/store transfers tool.
Creating a store transfer
- Navigate to Tools > Purchase orders/store transfers
- Click the [Add Transfer between stores] button.
A reference number will automatically populate or you can define your own.
You may also add notes about this store transfer for your reference.
- Select a location from. This is where the product(s) will come from.
- Select a location to. This is where the products(s) will go to.
Entry time: You may leave this at the default selection or you can select the date
in which the inventory was actually received.
- Leave the Status as "Inventory not received"
- Scan or manually search for your products to transfer
- Once you have all your products entered, click the [Save] button.
At this stage, the store transfer is pending. No inventory has been moved.
You can come back to this store transfer and add, edit or remove products.
Sending a store transfer
- Change the status of the store transfer to "Inventory Sent"
- Click the [Save] button.
Before changing the status, ensure the correct quantities have been received.
The store transfer will auto populate the current quantity being sent.
- Make any corrections by manually changing the "Quantity Received" quantity.
You can only edit the "Quantity Received" when the store transfer status is set to "Inventory Sent".
- Once the quantities are verified, change the status to "Inventory Received".
- Click the [Save] button.
Here is a video highlighting the above steps:
Average Time to Complete
Q: I made a mistake, what can I do?
A: As long as the status of the store transfer is not "Posted", you can change the status back to that stage you want to edit.
Q: What is Discrepancy Allowed?
A: This only affects the Store Transfers Quantities Discrepancy Report. If discrepancy allowed is checked, then the line item will not show up in the report.
Q: What is Posted status?
A: This status will finalize the store transfer and make it permanent preventing anyone from making any changes.
This action cannot be undone, please be careful.
Q: What is Inventory not received status?
A: This is the default option. When this is selected, the store transfer is pending and no inventory has been moved.
Q: What is Inventory Sent status?
A: The inventory has been sent or is in transit to the destination. The products have been removed from inventory at the originating store.
Q: What is inactive status?
A: Store transfers cannot be deleted; however, you can make them inactive. An inactive transfer will have no effect on inventory.